2/25/20 Closing Thoughts On Ameripolitan

I just got to Nashville from Memphis, so I’m writing this from the Nashville Palace, which has a ton of history. Randy Travis fans especially should know this place.

Anyway, Memphis was a lot of fun. I saw some familiar faces and learned about some other acts I didn’t know much about.

The first thing I mention to those unfamiliar with Ameripolitan is that it is a much smaller scene than some others. The theater that held the awards has an official capacity of 464, and was not completely full. As a music fan, the silver lining is that you are up close with everyone.

I won’t try to list all of the winners, but I talked to Bloodshot Bill in the elevator, I talked to Sarah Vista in the shuttle van to her early show, and I saw Georgia Parker and her Big Cedar Fever bandmates in San Marcos before they even formed Big Cedar Fever. I also saw them at Americanafest in September, and talked to Farmer and Adele in the audience. Two Tons Of Steel performed at the awards, and they play in San Marcos every year, and have a long-running series at Gruene Hall. Anyway, you get the idea. Memphis has a ton of music history, and the festival is a cool opportunity to learn about and really interact with that history.

Leave a comment